The beholder's eye

By uniqueandlovely

Like a 'lilliput lane' cottage

Living where I do in Horsham in West Sussex Christ's Hospital the famous Blue coat school is literally just around the corner, and we often see students in their breeches and long wool coats wandering round the town.
This pretty little gatehouse is situated on the junction of two roads, with the road to the right going into the main school, and the road to the left going towards Barnes Green - a lovely country lane I drive along often.
As it was raining hard today when I finished work, I decided to go and photograph this little cottage for you, as it looks pretty whatever the weather.
I love the way it could easily be a 'lilliput Lane; miniature, with the shape and colours, and the greenery growing neatly up the front.
My colleague Paul has just told me it was designed by Sir Aston-Webb, and built by the local building firm James Longley of Crawley between 1899 - 1902.
I love it, I hope you will enjoy it too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.