Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

Wet fag-break.

I ought to hastily point out that a "Fag" in the UK has an altogether more mundane interpretation than a "Fag" in the US.

A "dam-pish" day, short of a loaf. Quick "canter" down-town grab a loaf, quick cuppa at the only coffee shop I can guarantee an outdoor smoke in a blizzard.

On the way back to the car the Boss said "Look up there." chuckling a bit. Unfortunately, by the time I looked at her to see where "up there" was, her gaze had returned to street level and left me reciting a list of all the un-funny things I could see ... Like the Launderette, the pollarded trees etc.

"No!! Up there you pillock." and there he was, in the rain, head and shoulders sticking out of the "Velux", wreathed in smoke and a satisfied smile momentarily on his face.

It's not exactly one of HPX's "Shot from the hip" so much as "Shot at the gallop." hence the even worse than customary focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.