BabyMaybe

By BabyMaybe

IVF Journey: Third IVF day 23

This is my IVF diary. My husband and I have been trying to have a baby for four years now, and have a diagnosis of 'unexplained infertility'. We have finally reached the top of the waiting list for IVF - a form of assisted conception. I'm blogging about what happens as it happens, as a kind of therapy for me and as an awareness raising exercise of what IVF is all about.

Got this letter in the post today. So that’s awkward, cos I’m already doing it. Oops. Admin error!

While I’m here, one of my lovely regular followers recently asked me this question:

What happens if, and I know this is a big if, your own cycle does its stuff, and you and your husband do your stuff... and you have been IVF'd. Is it possible to have two babies at the one time, like Twins but conceived completely separately?

I’m happy to oblige with the answer…

This shouldn’t be able to happen. Why? Because at the pre-treatment scan the IVF clinic tell you to use condoms for the duration of the cycle. Yup. Feels a bit weird to use condoms whilst trying to get pregnant, but the IVF clinic want TOTAL CONTROL of my reproductive system. Creepy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.