See it, Snap it, Share it

By pplnani

On the turn

These are the leaves on my blueberry bush, they eventually turn bright red and look very pretty.

I've just witnessed the most amazing thing in my garden. I glanced out of the kitchen window to see a sparrowhawk swoop down and grab a collared dove right out of the air and land, with bird in claw, in the middle of the lawn. Now I'm a bit of a woos when it comes to things like this so I looked away and got on with something else but was inevitably drawn back to have another peep. The sparrowhawk was on top of the dove (I could hardly see it) with it's wings out in a very defensive posture and then I saw why. Two pigeons and several other collared doves were mobbing it - it would have made the most amazing blip but I didn't have my camera in hand. It finally had enough and flew off, releasing the captured collared dove which flew off in the other direction, minus several feathers. Who would have thought that pigeons would have come to the aid of a collared dove and been so effective. Of course I'm sorry that the sparrowhawk is still hungry but I'm so glad he didn't have his meal on my lawn, I hate to see anything like that.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.