Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Horned Oak

Full moon, so not a horned moon, but a bit of a horned oak, I think!

Actually, as you can see, it's a very old one with a certain amount of die back, and wrapped around by an almost equally old elder (comparatively, that is).

I found these 2 old friends standing in the middle of a field which had had its stubble turned over and was still brushed by a smidge of afterglow from the setting sun. There were a very few acorns on the oak, rather worm eaten, and a thin crop of berries on the elder, but still their fruiting was touched by this wonderful harvest moon as it rose above the trees. It doesn't show so much here, but it was quite yellow.

After which I was very grateful for a chicken tikka masala and a large glass of wine, courtesy of Tesco Express. And later I shall finish Beowulf, which I'm reading in memory of Seamus Heaney, a bit of a hero of mine..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.