Rowan tree

Foggy, murky and very damp today but I had set my mind to trying to make some rowan jelly so went out on the walk in search of berries. I found one tree literally dripping and managed to reach enough of them to stuff into my poly bag and also take a photo. But then on the moor I came across these young rowans planted specifically beside a copse of immature pines and they looked so attractive with their berries against the foggy background that I took a shot at them too. ... and this shot won the day despite the fact that it looks like a dusk shot when in fact it was mid-day! In normal circumstances these tress are not so noticeable as they are still young and their foliage merges in with the hills behind them, not so on a foggy day like today. I am sure you can also see two very wet dogs happily foraging for themselves.

The rowans and apples have been duly simmered and are now dripping quietly through a sieve (couldn't find the jelly bag), so we will see what tomorrow brings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.