monochrome

By monochrome

A Grey Day

Dull, uninteresting day today. Oh, apart from the near death experience in the office lift this morning. I don't normally opt for the lift up to the office, but seeing as I had treated myself to a Starbucks latte, I thought I'd avoid any Monday morning, half-asleep type beverage spillages. That was, of course, until I had just passed the second floor. THUMP! The entire lift carrige jumped - coffee everywhere - trembling hands and a very near critical underpant situation.
I tried pressing the "3" button again, and the same thing happened - THUMP! A second jolt; more coffee spilt everywhere - more hand trembling as I questioned whether the carrige felt like it was moving downwards or not. I braved another press of the button, and, thankfully (if not painstakingly slowly) the carrige arrived at the third floor with a little too much creaking and groaning than I'd ideally have liked.
Thankfully, most of the coffee remained intact, and any nasty undercracker related unpleasantness was avoided. Strangely, I was a little comforted when, after exclaiming "That lift is seriously f****d!", I was told that it happens all the time. If only someone had given me a little heads-up.
I think I'll take the stairs tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.