a day in the life of Jack

By jacksmom726

My boy

My baby...still small in size, but growing up. Jack turned 7 over the summer. It's still hard to believe. It seems like just yesterday he was learning to walk, saying his first words.

He is in 2nd grade now and adores his teacher. She is fun and makes learning really enjoyable. He comes home and mentions something he's learned that day. Today he was talking about planets, orbits, gravity. I remember really enjoying learning about the planets as well. He looks proud when he talks about it, asking me if I knew all of the things he did.

He is taking karate now...it was a big step for him. He's not athletic, but I wanted him to do some sort of physical activity. Team sports just weren't for him. It was a rough start, as he was very nervous and in tears the first couple of classes. The 'Mom' in me wanted to run over and grab him, pull him out of class and tell him he didn't have to do it, but I knew that wasn't the answer. I'm glad I didn't. He is now finishing up the 6th month of classes, and will be testing for his orange/white belt next week. We are very proud of him! My husband has always done martial arts, so I'm sure Jack is excited to be 'just like Daddy'.

Jack is a music lover...he always has music playing. We listen to music when we get ready for school/work in the morning. He listens to it when he takes a shower. We sing at the top of our lungs in the car, whether we know the words or not! He loves everything from the theme songs from cartoons, to Queen, to Iron Maiden to 80's hair bands. Thankfully he doesn't like Justin Beiber, or the like.

He is still pretty quiet and shy away from home. He doesn't have a best friend yet. He has many friends at school, but many times he just watches from afar when they play. Sometimes it makes me sad thinking about it. But it doesn't seem to bother him, he enjoys 'doing his own thing'.

He is funny...he's got a great sense of humor, almost an adult sense of humor. He is always making us laugh, tricking us, saying funny things. It's one of my favorite qualities about him.

He has been testing the limits at home...You can tell he is trying to be 'independent', trying to make his own rules. I guess that is a part of growing up. But he is still the snuggly little guy that he's always been. He loves cuddling, he loves kisses. We cuddle up together in his bed for about 15 minutes before he goes to bed. He wraps his arms around me, strokes my cheek, tells me how much he loves me and that I'm 'the best Mom'. We talk about the day. He tells me about school, what he liked, what he didn't like. I wouldn't trade those 15 minutes for anything in the world. It's just the two of us...no TV, no distractions.

I know that won't last for very much longer, so I savor every second of it. I don't want my 'baby' to grow up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.