LapsedCanon

By LooseCanon

Sossusvlei

This place is fantastic and the famous red dunes went way beyond expectations. I took hundreds of blippable shots but I thought this one summarised it nicely. I will put a load more on Flickr but am having a bit of trouble uploading them at present.

The drive to the dunes was very interesting. The last 5km was through deep sand and only suitable for 4x4. I have never driven a 4x4 before so it was a rapid learning experience.

We walked up the highest dune (called 'Big Daddy') which was incredibly difficult due to the soft sand. The view from the top at sunrise was truly amazing. The descent was much easier and involved running down the side of the dune.

At the bottom is Dead Vlei which is a very famous photography destination. There is a salt pan in which the remnants of dead Acacia trees remain. Absolutely stunning and I could have spent hours there with my camera.

The dune in this picture was taken at sunset and has a lovely shape.

I will put more pictures in my Blipfolio and on Flickr soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.