zebra

By zebra

Zanzibar ... ahhhh

I shared a drink with a colleague last night at a swish hotel which sat right on the beach... This morning I woke and went on my favourite jogging route in all of East Africa - from the guest house to the beach.

Upon reaching the beach I stripped down to my shorts and gently slid into the cool Indian Ocean. I shared the beach with one other person who was was swimming some distance away.

The sun was just rising making the tips of the clouds pink and the depth of the ocean below me a rich oxidized copper blue. There were a few wooden dhows moored in front of me...it was a religious experience. I floated on my back and tried to take in as much of the experience as possible. I gave thanks for nature and the blessings in life. And then I looked up and egrets passed over head while in my ears I could the clicking of sea animals.

And now I am back, thanking all of you for yesterday's overwhelming response to the photo. I was touched and thank you all for your encouragement. Today I have taken picture of Kheri (the K is silent). We shared the cover of a small alcove during the rains that occurred upon my return to the guest house. A very serious young man...

Today we have a Board meeting. I do hope that I can recall that we are here for kids like Kheri. Wisdom...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.