WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

Random

A good morning at the day job but another delay. I've chosen not to be frustrated.

Went into town to get a few inches lopped off my hair. Had such a funny time with Alex, my hairdresser. I always leave his company smiling.

Went to look at cameras. Proper dslr cameras. They were very pretty.

Made putative plans to meet a friend for coffee but he was called away. In a sense I was glad because I headed back into John Lewis and ran into the fabulous James Robertson, a true lad o' pairts in his youth. We worked together about seven years ago to get more Scots into the curriculum and he is a lovely, lovely man. I started reading his novels after we worked together and I'm glad for the occasions we run into each other to tell him how much I enjoy them. I've learned a lot about Scotland from him.

I then wandered off and stumbled across Social Bite again. There was a queue of people outside but very few people inside. It was nearing closing time and the people outside were waiting for some free food. I went in to help out and was told that a fiver could buy three breakfast rolls and three coffees for Monday morning. The kind woman working there said they had plenty of leftover pie, mash and gravy (yum!) for the guys outside but come Monday my fiver would have more impact. I was happy to have her use this meagre resource to best effect. What a great place this is and the whole idea of suspended coffees.

On my way back to my bike to head home I saw this fellow bringing the jewellery back in from the window display. I just liked the look of him. A fellow next to me was looking at a £20,000 watch. It's just a watch. It tells the time (which is a funny old construct in any case). Imagine what that £20k could buy at Social Bite or Shelter.

I took photos all day long, from the sunrise at 6:30 am, to James, to the fellows outside the café but this random stranger is my favourite.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.