the little things...2013

By cometlovescupid

Quinoa Oats

I'm cutting back on carbs and increasing my protein content in my breakfasts.

I've tried different things for breakfast all week.

I've had a great Egg, Spinach and Quinoa Bake, I've had an open sandwich of 1/2 can tuna with lots of black pepper, lemon juice and 1/2 mashed avocado on Warburtons bread thins (both recipes smothered in sriracha hot sauce of course - addicted to that stuff!), but today I made something different Quinoa Porridge.

It was so simple:

- measure 50g quinoa into a bowl
- add 2cm water to cover the quinoa and your choice of extras either sweet or savoury (e.g. nuts, seeds, raisens, peanut butter, marmite, herbs, bacon pieces, egg whites etc). I chose a chopped apple, loads cinnamon, 1tsp stevia, 1tb flaxseed and few dried cranberries.
- Microwave for approximately 10 minutes until all the water has been absorbed.

I topped it with a tsp almond butter, it was so tasty and didn't taste too 'quinoa-ry' if that makes sense :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.