A Snapshot a Day

By AgathasMum

99 Balloons, But Not A Single Red One

Today we did a sunrise balloon ride over Cappadoccia, in the rain. It was quite an achievement for me, considering I hate heights.

We didn't get off to the best of starts when I noticed that all the other pilots had their names printed on boards on their vehicles, while ours had just scrawled his name on a dry-erase board. Then all the other groups got a proper Butterfly Balloon and we got a generic yellow and white one. These were not positive signs....

We took off and it was overcast. I was not feeling good, and while everyone else was oohing and aaahing over the view, I had scooted down low in the basket and just poked the camera up high enough to take a few photos.

Then it started to pour with rain.

After a shorter than normal flight the pilot said he was going to put the balloon down as there was fog ahead. While everyone else was disappointed, I was secretly thrilled that it was over.

There was champagne after, but it would have done me more good pre-flight.

Glad that is over and done with. Now I can get on with enjoying the rest of my trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.