NellyO

By NellyO

Quinoa

We went to the allotment today, a little more than a week after we had last been there. The weeds had, as expected, run riot in the meantime, but the good news was that the brussels and broccoli have also had significant growth spurts and are looking pretty good, though I say so myself. I think the courgettes are slowing down now, we only harvested two today, and there are just a few flowers left on the plants so think we are coming to the end of those. It will be strange having to buy them again!

This is the other thing I'm particularly proud of. I didn't think for a minute I'd be able to grow quinoa (which is a bit like cous-cous, and is a native of South America) in Scotland, but my two plants are going great guns and I think I will be able to harvest it soon. I'm not expecting to have tons of it, especially as I have to winnow it so will probably lose most of it being cack-handed, but it's very satisfying to even have a few grains! And of course now I've got a bit more idea of what to do I can try again next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.