Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Seattle

Onward and away.

Riding the train a half days journey north past green fields of cows and distant misty hills. Beside driftwood filled beaches meeting the long waters of Puget sound in the slanted low light of days end. Arriving in Seattle looking up to the spires of skyscrapers again and the lights of another city.

So far I like Seattle the best of all. Better than Portland and San Francisco. Something in the air, some vibe I feel. On arrival it already suits me...as though arriving home. Though I am only a stranger, quickly though making all sorts of friends as though they have been there all along. Finding my way to a wonderful eclectic little hole in the wall pub festooned with British regalia from the Union Jack to stacks of Shakespeare collecting dust along the walls. A pint of beer and conversation with a few local Seattlites and before I know it I'm being taught a game of chess (Chess and beer Tuesday for these fellows).

They are slightly nerdy, fun, and super nice. Seattle young professionals in the IT technology arena. Typical, as America's iconic images and stereotypes keep continually turning out. Pints all around, many new friends, and a plane great night. Walking home sometime after 2 in the AM in the already familiar feeling streets of Seattle...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.