JJYoungs

By JJYoungs

First taste of Austrian top-flight football

SK Rapid Wien 2-0 SV Josko Ried. The stadium may be small, and the teams lacking in the quality I'm accustomed to watching in the English Premier League, but this was a great experience. Who knew 11,000 people could make so much noise? As every good European team should, Rapid have a group of 'Ultras' who take over one end of the stadium and cheer, yell, stamp, clap and basically go barmy for 90 minutes.

Austria, unlike the UK, still allows smoking in public places and the man to my left managed to get through 8 cigarettes (yes, that is almost one every 10 minutes). Something I'll have to get used to, I suppose!

Got a couple of brief chances to speak German: Ordering a beer (Einmal Ottakringer Helles, bitte) and buying a large pretzel (Ein Riesenbrezel, bitte). Not very challenging, but every little helps, I suppose...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.