dfb24

By dfb24

Rusted Arkansas Truck & Tractor

I had a great day today!! My husband, not so much! Usually when we go on a trip, as long as we aren't in a hurry we both prefer to take scenic routes over taking the expressways. Yesterday, though, he took the same route to get from Houston, Texas to Little Rock, Arkansas as we had taken on our way DOWN to Texas. So last night I picked out a different, scenic route for today's drive, but for whatever reason, he didn't want to take it! I think because he was stationed in Little Rock while in the Air Force he's already seen much of the area. However, I have only seen the part of Arkansas that you can see from the expressway & wanted to go a different way.....So a small argument ensued......we compromised--he said we'd take my route, but I'd have to be the one to drive it. He thought, I'm sure, that it was a bit of retribution since he did all of the driving on the way down. My husband: "All you'll see are trailer homes & shacks with garbage dumped out front" (which was true, but very "hillbilly-looking, which I've never seen before); My husband: "It's all flat!" (which was also pretty much true, as we were too far east to see the Ozark Mountains, & there weren't many hills). But in actuallity, I was as happy as could be, because since I had the steering wheel, I could stop anytime I wanted to take pictures, which I did! And I only hit the brakes & "U" -turned twice for pictures I just couldn't pass up, one of which is the one I posted today....I just loved the rusted out old truck (which my husband thinks is from the 1950's) & the rusted old tractor....there are even bullet holes in the windshield of the truck! (Hopefully they were put there after the truck had been parked there for a while & not while there were people in it!!)For whatever reason, his mood seemed to worsen with each "U"-turn!! HaHa! Eventually he got over it! He's a saint!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.