M9

By M9

WE SEE YOU!

I couldn’t believe my eyes this morning when I saw this doe and young deer in my back yard. I raced upstairs for my camera, flew back downstairs, out the front door and around the house. Luckily for me they stayed long enough for a few shots. Obviously I’ve been spotted! (I didn’t take time to adjust for lighting, but it was quite overcast so I hoped it would be okay – the mother was well under the trees.)

In the 40 years we’ve lived here, I think we’ve seen deer less than a half dozen times. (I blipped a doe in July, but couldn’t get around the corner of the house to photograph her two little spotted fawns without scaring them away. Today the fawns are nearly grown and have lost their spots.) We live in the city on a wooded lot, but there’s a river a couple houses down from us, so I imagine the deer walk along the riverbank and then up into the woods. Evidently the hostas and other garden plants are quite tasty these days – now I know who has been eating them! I was super happy to have my blip all set for today by 8:15 this morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.