JanVa

By JanVa

Apples!

What a difference a day makes! No fog today! Definitely a good thing as I was driving today.

After leaving Wintergreen I decided to make a "quick" detour to one of the many apple orchards in the area before heading back home. I left the orchard with 3 bushels of apples (one bushel each of Empire, Jonagold, and McIntosh). I have successfully given half of them away to parents, in-laws, friends, and neighbors. I also gave a neighbor a couple of my favorite apple recipes as I gave her more apples than she knew what to do with (apple cake with brown sugar frosting and apple torte). The rest of the apples are for us....

If you are wondering what the photo has to do with apples...the trees on the far side of the field are apple trees...This is some where in Nelson County (home of the Waltons, if you remember the TV show). All I know is my cell phone had no service for the last 15 minutes of the drive...



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.