Disaster

The walk came to a premature end. After leaving Osmotherley we (my son T, brother A, and myself) made good time, soaking in the moonlit atmosphere, seeing bats, hares and various wildlife that we couldn't quite identify. At the top of some fairly stiff climbing the lights of Teesside made for a spectacular view. There followed several tough descents and ascents one after the other culminating in a climb to an outcrop know as the Wainstones. Whilst dropping down from here to our first scheduled stop I slipped and twisted my knee; painful, but I was able to continue by taking care. However at much the same time T also slipped and aggravated an ankle injury that he had sustained playing football.
We pressed on, disturbing Grouse every now and again but it was becoming obvious that our 'injuries' weren't getting any better. We reached the water dump that A had set up earlier in the week as our breakfast stop at 5.45am just as the sky was beginning to show signs of dawn. By now there was a chilly breeze so we hunkered down in a gulley to eat. Just over 20 miles gone with the same to go. It was obvious that T's ankle was not going to get him that far and he was suffering, trying to avoid putting weight on my knee for 12 miles had transferred the pain to my groin and I too doubted that I would be able to do another 20 miles. A was annoyingly cheerful as he prepared breakfast! After a conference we decided that the sensible thing to do would be to bail. It's the first time I have taken something on and not completed it so I felt somewhat deflated, T was worried that he had let A down who had done most of the organisation for us, but bailing was the only sensible decision.
I can't leave this as it is and will have to consider tackling it again.
The photo is the view towards Ravenscar at about 6.30am, just as we made our decision.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.