Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Repetitivity

Walking around Van today, I drew a considerable amount of attention, and, to be fair, if I had seen another Westerner (which I didn't), I would have had a good, old gawk, too.

I was greeted often in the streets, usually by kids shouting "hello!", before muttering something to their pals in Kurdish. People my age were more likely just to look at me and say 'turist' as I walked by. I didn't know how to respond to that one. Well, yup, I suppose. But if you joined me for some tea, perhaps I could demonstrate what a bad tourist I am.

For today, I did everything the wrong way round. I checked out, but left my bag at the "hotel...". I turned the corner and was invited for some tea by and old gentleman on the curb-side stool.

Then I should have gone straight to Lake Van, or the castle or something, but the amount of military security and the gathered crowd in the main straight held me intrigued for a while. Having forgotten about my plans, I headed back to the bazaar area to try and get some interesting pictures.

I whiled away the hours, drinking tea and pottering about, and then I went down to the castle. This was way out of town and the area was desolate and flat (due to the earthquake in 2011). Now I was being labelled 'turist' by nearly everyone I walked by.

I circled the fence of the castle for twenty minutes, I could see the people on the top turret, but I could find no evidence of there ever being and entrance. So I went back to town on the next mini-bus, still with 9 hours to kill until my night-bus. What to do?

What to do, indeed.

I hopped from tea-rom to tea-room making the most of the shelter from the rain. Time dragged by, but, before I time to think, I had consumed 6 glasses of tea and nature began to call. I didn't want to go back to the "hotel" yet though, in case they lugged my bag straight onto my shoulders and telt me I'd stayed long enough.

So I went for a kebab and a wee read to take my mind of the bladder. Out of courtesy I accepted a tea after I'd eaten- I had to read ever more intensely, now. The woman came back over and gestured to ask if I enjoyed the tea, I nodded carefully. So, she brought over another tea.

I need to work on my body-language skills.

***

On a more interesting, less self-indulgent note, as I've sat here writing this there has been a constant stream of Syrian refugee families carrying household items to the upstairs flat. I feel that this sight will only become more common the further south I go.

What a dreadful situation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.