Flower Colour pop

Busy bee of a day today and looks like for the next few weeks. I've been asked to look at our additive manufacturing section, this is new technology which is really cool, non engineers look away now I'm about to get boring, but I know a few Engineers read this :-)
The additive manufacturing technology uses a high powered ytterbium fibre laser to fuse fine metallic powders together to form functional 3-dimensional parts.
The process is digitally driven, direct from sliced 3D CAD data, in layer thicknesses ranging from 20 to 100 microns that form a 2D cross section.
The process then builds the part by distributing an even layer of metallic powder using a recoater, then fusing each layer in turn under a tightly controlled inert atmosphere. Once complete, the part is removed from the powder bed and undergoes heat treatment and finishing depending on the application, it's new technology so should be interesting although there is a lot of work there.

So I'm going to turn my comments off for while and just drop in on yours when I have the time :-) although if you have Facebook you can find me here
Many thanks for the hearts, stars and lovely comments on my Furry friend yesterday they're all really appreciated. Enjoy the rest of the week my friends :-)

View large

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.