Diptych

By diptych

At the metro

It's been a while and I'm not sure how many of the wonderful blipfoto people I was in touch with a couple of years ago are still around, but I'm slowly trying to make my way back into the site.

For about the past year and a half I've been in the US, in the DC area, leaving a very chaotic and volatile Cairo, at what seems to have been the best time to leave. My leaving was, however, was pure chance and was never part of the plan. As it turns out, it couldn't have worked out better.

So much has changed, most significantly my career. I'm on a different path (one that remains steadily focused on Egypt) and it's incredibly satisfying. Some days I still find it hard to believe that I'm here, and not in Cairo anymore. It'll hit me in the small, insignificant moments. When I'm walking to my car at the metro station. When I'm riding in the elevator to work and I can see myself reflected in the elevator doors wearing a skirt I couldn't possibly think of wearing in Cairo cause I would just end up getting harassed. Or when I'm taking my niece and nephew out to the movies, or for a meal, while their parents get a rare date night.

It's all so... domestic. And suburban. And nothing like Cairo, which I miss terribly, all the time. But it's still wonderful to be here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.