Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Red Anemone

...with a touch of gold.

Yesterday's rain brought a fresh fall of snow on the mountains and frost in my garden this morning. Mild weather for the last three weeks has fooled my five plum trees and three apricot trees into believing spring has come and it has made them very vulnerable. They are about to burst into bloom. My usual strategy is to spray with water when this happens, but the outside taps were frozen. Tried using a hand sprayer, but I don't think it will help. It will be several days before I can tell if the buds are all right.

I have lost whole crops some years. We can get damaging frosts even when the fruit is well grown. But this year the buds have developed much too soon.

For tonight the main outside tap is covered. I can only hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.