Kate in Africa

By KJM

What have the aid workers ever done for us?

The Guest Hotel in Odienne doesn’t appear to have the guests much in mind, offering, as they don’t, nothing in the way of food, drink, or welcome. A brick of foam pillow was nonetheless a new, and appreciated addition since my last (malaria ridden visit).
This is likely my last visit here on this mission, and I reflected on this in our staff meeting. “Kate, qu’est ce que tu vas nous laisser comme héritage? » was the unnerving question from a colleague. I hesitated, for too long. I don’t think I can answer that, I stumbled – isn’t that a question for you to decide, and probably not today? Lacine, the head of office, came to my rescue. “Kate tient le programme en main” he said, holding his hands up in a parody of old father lion presenting Simba to the jungle. Hugely grateful, I decided to take that as the compliment I think it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.