The continuing education of Coorie dog

Coorie the dog is now in a post-groomed state and she looks quite handsome.

We have continued our conversations about how she might help in the garden. Although, truth to be told, I do most of the talking.

As evident in this shot, she remains committed to supporting our efforts in building a garden. But it is just not working out. There are important issues of location, depth and timing which she seems unable to grasp. So we need to look at other possibilities.

I have an idea which I have shared with her.

The shed where I keep all my gardening gear is often some distance from where I might be doing my gardening. So I can arrive a place in the garden ready for the task ahead and find that, in order that the task may be completed satisfactorily, something from the shed is required. The realisation that a trowel, a glove, a packet of seeds is needed is usually accompanied by a short sharp single word from my mouth which breaks the peace of the day.

Thereupon I trudge back to the shed to pick up whatever did not make the journey in the first place.

It is not unknown for that action to be repeated.

So, I have said to Coorie, when she hears the remark which others might find offensive, she should prepare herself for a trip to the shed. On hearing a further instruction such as 'Trowel', she may then proceed down to the shed to fetch whatever the command indicates. Following that she should return it to me at which point she would be given a substantial reward.

I have explained this more than once. I have pointed out that an unimaginable amount of treats were ready in return for such noble feats of retrieval. We haven't quite got to the point where she heads off to the shed.

It looks like this may take some time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.