WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Look, no cables!

I raised the bar too high with my last blip. When I went out for a walk yesterday I rejected every possible photo opportunity as not being up to scratch. Thank you so much for all the hearts, stars, and kind comments on my mono. I am encouraged to try again.

Today I decided I had to blip something. It would have been a sourdough loaf, except that yet again it didn't turn out quite right. So I went out in the early evening and took some photos. When I was at PPF, fellow guest Tom, who is a professional photographer, recommended a Photoshop book by Scott Kelby. It arrived yesterday, and I was spellbound. It's not a manual, more a recipe book -- "if you want this effect, do this." Tom had quickly showed me a couple of clever techniques, but this book expanded on those. So thanks to the content-aware spot healing tool, bam, the power lines trailing across the sky in this photo are gone! Much quicker and less visible than my previous cloning technique. I can recommend this book if like me you open Photoshop and then stare in bewilderment wondering what tool to use to achieve the effect you want.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.