MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Red Breasted Ventriloquist

My sister and I were sitting on the step in the sun at Mother's when we heard beautiful birdsong. I had my camera with the macro lens on as I had been togging a shield bug that had alighted on Clem's arm.

The song sounded as though it was made by more than one tiny bird in a bush a way from where we were sitting. We searched in vain.

I spotted a robin deep in the bush nearest to us and started taking pics of it as it seemed quite brave. I was astounded when I realised that the glorious liquid song was coming from this bird. Its beak was firmly closed but I could see its body quivering from the effort and its throat pulsating. Magic!

Unlike most birds, robins sing nearly year round. They start to sing in autumn after they have moulted, defending their winter territories. It is the soundtrack to shorter days as mentioned by Keats and Clare. All the sweeter as there is no competition from other birds. It has been described as subdued, melancholy, sweet, controlled, plaintive, tender, sad, wistful, tiny, whispering and lonely. Lacking in intensity but full of exultant phases.

I've shot robins in full song with beaks agape but my encounter with this ventriloquist was so special. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.