CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Up market recycling

Woodpeckers and I headed into town together this morning which made a nice change. She had to go off to work as usual while I had an important meeting at the council with the architect, the clerk and the mayor about our funding applications for the regeneration of Lansdown Hall.

It took about three hours to get away and I went to get some passport photos from a machine at the post office. As we had feared, I came out looking awful, having followed the instruction not to smile, which I find quite difficult in such circumstances. I wonder what impression the staff at the passport office have of British citizens whose mugs they must see in such unfortunate poses. I have now sent off my renewal application and I'm glad it is finally done, so we can get prepare for our trip to the Netherlands at half-term. I have just heard from my old friend Jacques D. in Brussels, who we will visit on the way back. I haven't seen him for thirty years.

When I had eaten some lunch and Helena had come home as well, I headed off to another post office to send a parcel. The sun was shining, so I decided to head further up the valley beyond Chalford looking for a possible landscape view which I have had in ind for some time. Sadly the trees' leaf cover meant that the wonderful view across the valley was very restricted, so I will have to try again for that shot once the autumn leaf fall has occurred.

Leaving Chalford on the Cirencester road, I took a side road towards Minchinhampton once I'd reached the top of the hill. This lead me past an old architectural salvage company which I thought had been forced to close some months ago. But no, it was open, so I drove into their yard and took a look around. I've bought a few items there in the past few years, including old farm house doors and paving stones, and I always like to have a peek to see what is being recycled. Much of it seems rather extravagant, especially the prices, and today their range was very limited, compared to their heyday.

But I did like this dog, which was matched by a second one on the other side of the yard, behind where I was standing. In the background is the small garden where there are a few bits of outdoor furniture for sale, including a very comfortable three seated metal bench, a snip at only £650! If I hadn't blipped this scene, I would have blipped a close up of the stack of terracotta pipes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.