REFLECTION of a BEAUTIFUL DAY!

The past week has been cooler so I went back to the fish ladder to see if the salmon were running yet – they evidently run sometime in September. Unfortunately they weren’t running today – at least not while I was there, so I took a few shots of other things. This dam is on the back side of the fish ladder. (I posted the Brenke Fish Ladder on Sept. 2.) Today's picture gives you a fair idea of the two levels of the river. Since the salmon swim upstream, they have to combat the opposing flow of the water – the current is quite strong, while jumping up the various ‘steps’ in the ladder to get to the higher level. Aside from the fish phenomenon, the reflection in this picture shows what a gorgeous day it was here. Wish this refreshing weather would last!

(Also, see Flickr for a pretty shot of a bee drinking nectar from a hollyhock. These flowers were in the landscape of a law firm near the river – I doubt I’ll get a chance at these flowers again.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.