EastTexasAngles

By EastTexasAngles

The Little Fox That Wasn't

A few weeks ago, I saw a creature in the woods. It was just a steak in the corner of my eye, but it looked like it could have been a red fox. It could have been -- as numerous neighbors who know the woods say there are red foxes in it.

Today, I was passing the hay meadow, when I saw a creature streak across it and disappear into the bales. I couldn't see it but I pointed my camera at the place where I saw it enter the bales and it turned out to be this rather lonely looking orange cat. I then followed it as it emerged and made its way across the field. The pictures were taken at the long end of the super zoom lens. This one was the clearest and the only one where she stopped and looked towards me.

I've never seen her before and don't know if she belongs to anyone or is a feral cat. I may or may not ever see her again. The photo looks rather ordinary but of all the pictures I took today, I liked it best and so, finally, it was my choice over the alternatives of deer, wild oranges, rabbits, and an orange sky.

There is just something about this cat that appeals to me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.