Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

At this time, one year ago

The onset of fall often puts me a reflective mode. I suppose it stems from a lifetime of seeing September as the official starting point for a myriad of new things, and September is typically a busy month with new activities and events gearing up once again. I find myself looking back, remembering where I was, who I was with, what was new, what made me happy, what made me sad, at this annual turning point.

Many significant events occurred for me at this time, one year ago:

• I closed out the summer with a delightfully lazy drive down the Oregon coast with Richard, a journey I hope we'll repeat.

• This highpoint was followed by one of the lowest points in my life. A personal betrayal that absolutely floored me. Its memory is still potent enough to stop me in my tracks from time to time. Suffice it to say, I learned an important lesson. No blipfoto necessary!

I joined an orchestra! At my friend Joan's suggestion we both signed on with the North Sound Community Orchestra, a small community group with a lot of heart. It was perfect for us.

• A few days later, I purchased my wonderful, wonderful Olympus XZ-1, a camera that has been working very hard since last October!

• Most notably, this time last year, I moved into Bellingham. It was long overdue and I have no regrets. I feared I would miss my old home terribly, built with my own two hands, but most of my nostalgia occurred during my last few days in the old house, nothing since. And I love my new home and new neighborhood.

Thanks blipfoto, for being the treasure chest that a packrat like me needs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.