Information Retrieval

By Syetuttle

Shooting Stars

A lot of drizzle this morning = I got wet cycling to work.

BUT it didn't stop me from blipping this. I set up my camera before hand - Lensbaby on, Star aperture disc on and ND filter on. This is something I have been meaning to do for yonks and as the mornings are getting darker I am tempting myself to leave the house a tad earlier to catch shots like this. I attempted something similar to this last week and the week before that with this effort.

The "stars" appear in the view finder, just like in the picture, as the aperture disc is star shaped and not a hexagon shape (assuming 6 aperture blades are used). This is one of the many reasons for me wanting a Lensbaby as the creativity through the different shapes are limitless. Lensbaby also provide blank aperture discs for you to cut out your own shapes. Sound rather fiddly/technical/old fashioned but IS really good fun. Also note that no Photoshop was used here to create any of the effects you can see - it's all optical.

Looking at this blip there is a little me in my head saying "we need to do this in the dark!"

;-D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.