Sat on the Sluice Pump!

After swimming 58 lengths this morning ( I have been increasing my distance by 2 lengths until I get to the 64 which is 1 mile) we walked up to our friends house to have a coffee with them as Paul is 65 today! I thought about taking some champagne but they are driving today so we will wait until Friday evening when they are coming for a meal.

Walking back home from their house we passed the poetry garden where there is a sluice pump from one of the farms and the jam pot which is from what was Harley's jam works (Sir William Pickles Harley is buried in Trawden and made his first jam when he was 10 and it was rhubarb). On the walls there are poems in old Lancashire dialect.

Ted like me would have preferred to have kept the public toilets in this spot but they were pulled down a few years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.