Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

My Year of Meats - Ruth Ozeki.

Ruth Ozeki is fast becoming one of my favourite authors. She manages to be informative and deal with big issues while never losing the narrative. Wonderfully drawn characters and exceptional storytelling beautifully written. I loved it :)

There were extracts of Shonagon's Pillow Book* at the start of each chapter. I'm a huge fan of Japanese literature but I'd never heard of this before - so of course had to buy it too! I may have to start my own pillow book.....things Cherry Bee likes.... ;)



*A "pillow book" is a collection of random notes, character sketches, lists, poems, and observations that the Japanese upper class during the Heian period might have kept in the drawers of their wooden pillows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.