PaulineW

By PaulineW

Spider web

I didn't cheat and spray this web, any moisture on it is dew! I shot it with my macro but added 2 extension tubes (31mm and 21mm) to get even closer. I also used my ring flash as the light was quite low - you can see its reflection in some of the dewdrops.

I am fascinated by the shapes in this web and the way the spider has used triangles, presumably for strength, but in an apparently haphazard way.

I took a shot of another web also using the extension tubes and it shows quite clearly the drops of sticky stuff the spider puts on particular threads for the insects to stick to, but also the radial threads which it doesn't put sticky drops on so it can run around the web without getting stuck itself (see in my folio).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.