... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM Cocoon: Colourful Character

See different moiré patterns (in the windows) in large ("L")

This is the view from the bridge that connects the cocoon to the fifth floor of DC2: I've not been out on it before (I've been through the cocoon itself, but didn't leave by the conventional exit...), and 'though the view was rather fun, I had hoped that it would let me see further around the cocoon...
I took this at about 5:45PM and this member of the front-of-house team was the only person left standing on the floor by the cocoon. Her hair is bright red; she seems a colourful character so I let her colours through here.

Today's exciting news: I worked out a way to order a macro lens! My poor car has been sitting in front of our house since it died in May. I've been umming and ahhing about what to do (procrastinating...) and have finally given up on my dream of some wealthy hobbyist snapping it up for restoration, but recently found a recycling centre that would collect it, pay me, and recycle at least 85% of its parts which seems rather better than I'd anticipated for simply "scrapping it".
So, I've booked its date and (almost) simultaneously ordered a macro lens, so I will just have to try to transfer my affection onto its rather indirect replacement. They're both made of metal and glass with more electronic components than their predecessors would have contained, so are almost identical really...

p.s. The interference patterns visible in some of the windows are a product of the image being scaled for blip (they aren't present in the original image); I rather enjoy moiré so long as it isn't intrusive or unwanted...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.