Say Hello To Jeff

This is Jeff. The man that gave me my first job in motor racing, some 24 years ago now.

Whilst at college I had been to Brands Hatch once as a guest of a friend from college. her boyfriend raced. I finished college, and the course I had done wasn't really for me, and I had seen an advert for the London Evening Standard Free raceday at Brands Hatch. At a similar time I had seen an article in the local paper about a chap starting a race car hire business.

At Brands Hatch I happened to see him. Said hello, usual pleasantries and at the end he said 'If you fancy coming along and helping, give me a call sometime'. So I did, the Monday straight after that Sunday.

I worked for Jeff for about 6 months, helping out where I could. It was a tough time for Jeff, he had suffered some personal setbacks, and in the late eighties and early nineties there was a bit of a downturn and finances were tight.

when the winter came and racing was over Jeff found me a job with a place in North London that used to do repairs for him that also looked after a whole host of historic racing cars.

It was an interesting time working with Jeff, and he was, and still is a genuine and honest guy.

He got out of racing about 20 years ago, he now buys and sell model trains. Something that was a hobby all those years ago he turned into a business.

It was nice to catch up with him after probably 18 years since we last saw each other. Both older and greyer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.