Licensed to Chill

By 007Roo

BlueBird

Today I visited Coniston it's my favourite of the lakes, it's a peaceful place and it holds a certain fascination with me.

I love the thought of travelling water and land very fast, madness yes I know but not to a certain man.

Donald Campbell wanted to be the fastest man to travel on land and also water, his car was named bluebird along with the boat.

Campbell successfully broke both records but wanted more, on a coldJanuary morning in 1967 he made his final attempt on lake coniston its 5 miles long and 0.5 miles across, the practise attempts went well and then he made an attempt to travel at 300mph with the jet propelled Blue Bird, it took off like a plane somersault and Campbell was killed, parts ofBlue Bird floated to the surface along with Donald's mascot Teddy Mr Whoppit, ( I have featured My Mr Whoppit in a Roo blip), but the body was never found, that was up until 2001 when divers located the wreckage and also the body, his daughter was asked if she wanted the body brought up and after much thought decided that people would only dive and find the wreck now they knew where it was, so Donald was finally laid to rest in Coniston.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.