A photography challenge

By ldyer

Forest of Bowland

I'm still realising what a beautiful part of the world that I live in. I went for a bike ride today, it was amazing. Painful, very painful but so beautiful. The pain fades in the memories, but the views and scenery remain. After the first hill and a compulsory cake stop. I ventured into the unknown, a stunning road out of Slaidburn through the heart of the Forest of Bowland. Sadly up all hill. I get to what I think is the top, thankful that it is over, check the map and see I've only done half of the uphill. There is a nice downhill section through a wood before the climb starts proper. But following the road and it winds it's way up the side of a valley, drinking from the bubbling brooks, and reaching the top was very satisfying. Now 2 hill done, I decided that my original plan of going on a big loop over 4 hills was a little too ambitious. Time to head home, shower, collapse and enjoy the ache is the thighs. Definitely going to give this a go when I'm next back in Clitheroe, maybe even go a little further next time too.

This picture was taken from getting close to the top of Lythe Fell, sadly it was a misty day so you can't see the whole view. I must find a way of taking a proper camera and not just my iPhone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.