"You are my picture

I call you Mirrors."
(Conversation)

I drew the outline for this portrait in pencil last night and I was very excited. This was my second try at a Gary Numan portrait. I was not pleased with first one I did earlier this year and, Numan's music being such a huge part of my life, I just could not let that stand. When I received a facebook message this morning announcing that today is the 34th anniversary of the release of The Pleasure Principle, I knew I had to get this portrait finished today in order to commemorate the occasion. Well, I am very pleased with this portrait; what I like particularly is that it shows the man as he is today but the mood and expression is exactly that which so mesmerised me that evening when I saw him for the first time singing Are "Friends" Electric? on Top Of The Pops. No other musical encounter before or since (except, perhaps, my first time to hear Kraftwerk) has had quite the same impact. Quite simply, Numan's music has provided the soundtrack of my life since I was ten years old; I can't imagine life without it.

Unfortunately, I cannot find Numan's original appearance on Top Of The Pops because I'm sure he had white hair at that time; but this is very close and the quality is superb.

Tubeway Army - Are "Friends" Electric?

Are "Friends" Electric? Did Gary Numan foresee facebook, I wonder?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.