Particles & Waves

By EdwardFenner

And the winner is... me!

Today was the annual YorkU Campus alumni breakfast for staff and faculty who have earned their degree(s) at the University. It is also the kickoff to our Homecoming events and the big football game on Saturday. I go each year to share in the celebrations and to socialize with colleagues. There are always a couple of door prizes to be won. However, I never win - until today! On offer were a golf bag and a gift bag with groovy stuff in it. I won the latter (which is great because I am not a golfer). As you can see, it contained a YorkU baseball cap (that says YorkU Alumni on the back), a sleek business card holder (laser-etched), and a book by renowned YorkU professor, novelist, and official poet-in-residence to the Olympics: Priscila Uppal. This is especially cool because I know Priscila well. She's a friend and member of Existere's editorial board where I have volunteered and mentored students for six years so far.

I am a proud YorkU alumnus. I earned my BA (Hons.) and the president's medal in 2010 as a mature student undergrad. I shall be an alumnus again in 2014 with an MA in Science and Technology Studies (focusing on Robert J. Van de Graaff and his work).

Go Lions!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.