Plus ça change...

By SooB

Raggedy

You've got to love cosmos. Just keeps on flowering: through the nudging-40 degree heat of August, the cold rainy weeks lately, and still in our Indian Summer days, there are buds a plenty pushing through for their day in the sun. Next year I may grow nothing but cosmos. (Well, and marigolds and lavender and gaura and sunflowers....) I don't think, by the way, that the tiny spider (and its hidden friend) were responsible for the nibbling but I wondered if they were trying to catch what was - so I let them be.

A long busy day where I achieved... err... doesn't feel like a lot. This evening I spent more hours than I care to remember tempering chocolate. Honestly, I have never spent as long getting my husband in a good temper and that's a much more worthwhile pursuit. Sigh. We will go back to slightly faded looking chocolates hardened in the fridge, I think (until I get myself a tempering machine....)

CarbBoy's sleepwalking (have I mentioned that) continues to develop. He just makes short trips, usually out to the top of the stairs and back, but in a house with more holes than floors, it's a bit of a worry. He's full of cold at the moment, and even TallGirl seems to be coming down with it. I am meanwhile riding high as I went for a run this morning and I CAN WALK this evening. Which seems like a big leap forward from Monday. When slow shuffling was more the order of the day than big leaping. Also the grotesque swellings on my face have subsided sufficiently that I don't have to start every conversation with "It's mosquito bites, I react badly".

In other news today: I had a nice chat with the butcher, who always wants to know exactly what I'm going to do with the meat I buy there, it's as though if he doesn't approve he'll send me off with nothing. Happily my plans for not-too-salty-bacon and long slow roasted lamb shoulder with seasoning to be decided passed muster (he suggested anchovy for the lamb) so I was allowed to hand over my cash. Another hot steamy day today, I can feel the build up coming for the forecast weekend storms, but tomorrow is set to be hot and clear. Every morning lately we have had fog - the pretty kind that lingers in the valleys but clears once the sun is properly up. One of these days I'll get some nice photos of it. Given that this type of weather usually arrives in November, I hope that doesn't mean winter will be early... With our heating situation still tbc I could do without a long cold winter.

But before then it appears there is still a bit of summer to enjoy, for me and the cosmos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.