fotolife

By dennisbarlow

Sheffield Park

I visited Sheffield Park and the Bluebell railway with denthelens yesterday - we met at John Gravett's Lakeland Holidays a few years ago and try to do a photo excursion as often as possible. I hadn't really done any serious photography for a year so my progress re-learning the A900 was slow!

A small selection of the shots I took are in my portfolio. The 'daddy longlegs' is something I've never shot successfully in the past, mainly due to inappropriate backgrounds, and I was pleased by the contrast between it and the background. The image of the lady waiting for the train almost worked, but I couldn't get into a position where the train formed a pleasing backdrop. The shot of the bridge will be given a B&W treatment sometime in the future. For this blip I chose the shot of three ladies making the most of the autumn colours and tranquility of Sheffield Park by the lake.

Well worth a visit if you've never been. The colours should be spectacular in a week or two, and the Bluebell Railway and British Wildlife Centre are close by.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.