Feminist Cinderella

Last week I taught Sarah to darn socks and today I am passing on my skills at damp dusting and scrubbing floors... 'make sure you leave the door till last so we can get out' etc. We don't usually spend this much time on cleaning but tonight we have a guest staying who is allergic to dogs and dust. We usually obey the poem Dust If You Must' and pursue more creative pursuits.

So here is one feminist sharing her domestic skills with another, ensuring that the next generation can keep house. I have two sons and yes, I will be teaching them as well (they aren't keen to darn, I must say). It's an uphill struggle with the sons.. and I search my soul on these issues.

Since my blip is silent, let me tell you about the conversation we were having while Sarah cleaned the floor. She wants to work for an overseas charity and many people do unpaid internships in order to get jobs. These are often in London, so only people who can afford the rent or have family to live with can afford to do so. Sarah was telling me about a tent city in Japan where people live who go to work every day in suits, to save on rent. We were wondering if it would work here...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.