A Dog's Dinner

By G

Tales of Public Transport

Since the introduction of the new and improved bus service I have made one or two new chums. One is a lady of a certain age, possibly in her late seventies. She likes to get the bus every morning, go to Marks and Spencer for food shopping then have a daily coffee in Jenners.

All done within one hour.

Yesterday she sat next to me and as I had forgotten my headphones had a chat in the poshest of Edinburgh accents.

'The country is going to hell in a hand cart -my husband was saying just this morning what the goodness what are we doing in Afghanistan'

The conversation then moved on to the history of warfare in that country.

"No one has ever won there, not the Soviet Union,The British Empire even Alexander The Great met his Waterloo there although I believe he was poisoned and died in his bed. Well maybe not his bed probably his servant's.'

I remember watching Alexander on the television with Michael Wood - oh i like him.'

'Eye Candy for the older lady, oh yes! I like him'

I had my headphones on this morning so it was a bit quieter.


...and the pic. It rained all day but the sun burst through for one minute this afternoon lighting up the roofs.








Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.