A Thousand a Day

By Daver64

Not so tim'rous

In a fit of decisiveness this afternoon, I decided to make a start on some much needed work around our pond area. Unfortunately, in my enthusiasm I well and truly 'broke nature's social union', when I uncovered a mouse's nest. Seven helpless little mouselets scattered, with no doubt a fair bit of 'panic in their breasties'. I wasn't sure what their chances might be, but after a short while mum appeared. Although she was clearly a little anxious at my presence, her instinct to look after her offspring was stronger and she proceeded to sniff them out from their hiding places one by one, and picking them up by the scruffs of their little necks, gathered them into a warm shelter. This was the last youngster to be collected.

No doubt they may become a bit of a nuisance in the kitchen as winter sets in, but, for now, I'm glad they're safe.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.