NO can spell

bar + be + cue = barbecue

What is so difficult about that?

bar + beque = barbeak!

I wonder how much more we'd have to pay South Hams District Council to provide a dictionary?

One of my bugbears! I'll calm down again now ;-)

Spent all a.m. at the health centre: more blood tests, an ECG and stronger antibiotics. These latest come with a warning to avoid direct sunlight - even 'bright cloudy days'. So thank goodness it's not mid-summer - like it was when I started with this bug. Can't fault the doctor though; she couldn't have been more thorough. And they've phoned me this evening to say, nothing nasty showed up - and just keep taking the tablets! Phew!

PS Here's a limerick I forgot I'd written ...

In summertime, week after week,
I see barbecue spelt as bar-beque
Or, for short, BBQ
(That will just about do):
Why can't people write as they speak?

poem © Celia Warren 2013

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.