an image of teamdel

By teamdel

Tour of Britain - Guildford

Today we headed to Guildford to watch the finish of stage 7 of the Tour of Britian. We got there really early and bagged a spot just after the finish where we met up with friends. The three hours waiting gave time to get lunch, have a mooch around and for the area to be scoped out.

The race was exciting and Cav won just like last year, though he had to give a extra kick. We managed to fight our way to see the podium presentation, so saw Cav & Bradley pick up some trophys. We then followed a group of people, none of which knew where they were going but all managed to find a cut through to avoid the crowds to the side street where the Team Sky and Quickstep team buses where waiting for their winning riders to arrive.

We were very lucky that the little ones were allowed to hold Cavs trophy. Then Granny managed to get Girls hat signed by Wiggo but annoyingly I missed out on getting Cavs for Boy, my camera even failed as he rode right past me. As the buses started up to leave Boy and I wandered ahead of the Quickstep bus and joined the crowd to take a picture as it left.

As we did I gave Cav a thumbs up and Boy gave him a wave. The next thing we knew Cav asked the driver to stop, pointed at Boy passed his drinks bottle the driver to pass to Boy out the window. My excitement from this happening did not disperse for a while, so when I bumped into Stewart Lee in the street I told him I felt I had to tell him he was amazing. Yes I am a saddo.

Even the long fight with Croydons road system and the hotel rooms without enough beds in could not dampen our exciting day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.