Forest School

Back to "normality" today. Steve off to work. Us muddling our way through breakfast. I'm on the big car's insurance now, ready for our adventure out to Grappenhall this afternoon, to our Forest School taster session. I was actually getting really nervous about going out. Nervous about having to actually TALK to new people. I have this idea in my head that I'm a shy person who doesn't do very well in social situations, but I think a great big portion of that is a lie that I've ended up believing. Anyway I didn't have time to be really nervous so once I'd got past the idea of ducking out of going (Bean would have sobbed) we had to race to get there. And of course I kept spelling the name of the school wrong so my own satnav couldn't find the place, so I had to go into facebook to the event details to find a link to a map that could get us there! We were a few minutes late in the end but the fella leading the Forest School was only just inside the school building and we made it into the main group just in time. Phew! Bear of course fell asleep on the way and didn't wake up on transfer into the wrap, Bean was painfully shy for the first five minutes, then made friends with a little girl and once he realised he could go and explore the undergrowth I barely saw him! He loved swinging in one of the hammocks, insisted that he didn't need to make a woodland crown because he had shiny armour on because he was a knight, remembered what holly was and stinging nettles, climbed a tree, crawled under brush, watched intently as Mark (our leader) tried to light a fire in vain with damp kindling (and now wants a fire stick of his own!!) and wants to come back again next week. Bear woke up as we were finishing so we stayed in the school playground for a little while to give him chance to stretch his legs. Hopefully next week he'll wake up to join in the session with everyone else!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.